A HUNGRY WOLF RUNNING ACROSS THE FROZEN STEPPE AT NIGHT COULD ONLY UNDERSTAND ME
PEOPLE
HENADIY ZAITSCEV

The first chronicler and the keeper of the tradition of Rock in Saint-Petersburg. It was the first President of legendary Leningradskiy Rock- Club (in his biography the word The first is met very often though it is very seldom connected with the history of native rock-n-roll). Henadiy Borisovich was born in saint-Petersburg on the 26th of June in 1954. He began top play music and study hippy philosophy under the influence of an elder brother Vladimir (the date of birth is 8/07/49). He was one of the first hippy in the city. Since the middle of 60s he joined the pop- movement. It helped him develop himself because he and his friends and contemporaries were able to create hand-made guitars. One of such guitar was used by leader and the founder of the band MIFY, Danilov Sergey.

In 1971 Zaitscev Hena finished the school. In a year he entered the Leningradskiy Shipbuilding college to avoid joining the army. And in 1973 he and his brother formed illegal pop-club The club of Leningrad music goers . It was in their flat. It was the unity of all the bands? The amateurs of music, music lovers, the starting up journalists, interpreters, the managers of illegal concerts in Saint-Petersburg. In a year the student of the University, Baidak Yuri appeared in their club, he dealt with the concerts without having special education. It was necessary for him to listen to some instructions to manage all this with great success.

Since 1976 It was Zaitscev who began to record all the concerts regularly thats why for some years he was able to collect an enormous collection of records. Since 1977 Pop-Club (Hena Zaitscev) managed to show the records from the Finnish Television. He showed video films and the concerts of the western pop-rock-bands in the country, Solnechnaya.. That summer Zaitscev was able to create the first in the history of the USSR an alternative hippie commune. In the autumn He organized the first in the USSR an independent rock- magazine Roksi.It was made under the influence of Romanova Dusha from the Aquarium band .The name of the magazine was given according to Ilchenko Yuri s idea (ex- MITHY).

The special body (KGB) followed Zaitscevs activity. They had some discussions with him but they could not find anything illegal in his activity. He actively supported the commune which moves from Solnechnoye to Estinia at first and later to the Hauya River near Riga. He gathered information about rock in Saint-Petersburg. He spoke about it in other places. As a manager he was able to organize the concert of the band ROSSIYANEin Tartu, Tallin, and in Moscow. He also sent out the records of the band everywhere and even to the West.

At that time Zaitscev tried again to legalize the activity of pop-rock club in The House of Culture Nevskiy. Vladimir Kalinin worked there as a drummer of AGRONAVTY band. He wanted to give the name to the club as Spektr. It was a club which gave formal lectures about journalism and outstanding people in rock-bands. In 1979 the club moved to The House of Culture By Lenin in Proletarskaya. The legal selling of recordings and the exchange of them were held there. That autumn the best Estonish band MAGNETIC BAND arrived to Spektr to give the concert thats why this band was able to get the opportunity to give concerts out of Estonia.

Since the appearance of home -made club in 70s Zaitscev tried to get a legal status for the club. He tried to do it with the help of his personal contacts. In November of 1979 Experimental Club- Laboratory of Popular Music was opened in the club of RGU in Krasnogvrgeiskiy rayon. Almost all of the illegal manager took part in the cr5eation of it. They were Baidak Yuri, Ivanova Tatiana. Dryzlov Alexander, Ivanov Sergey and others. Zaitscev Hena also participated here he was extra well known in a musical area.

Sorry to sat this club existed only some time. Bit in a year there was another attempt to legalise the club and in January of 1981 it was managed. So Illegal Peter rock movement had been legalized. Zaitscev Hena was elected at the President of this Club. Truly to say this choice was refused by the Special Body (KGB) and in a season he was made leave this position because of only his arguments with official head of the club against of an attempt to exclude the bands Aquarium and Rossiyane from the members of the club or to ban of giving the concerts. He left the club and for some years he dealt with hippie movement. At the same time he went on to be in touch with rock society. He managed to broadcast the concerts of the Peter bands from Byelorussia, Estonia and Lithuania.

In 1983 Zaitscev Yuri was acquainted with the leader of the band DDT Shevchuk Yuri whowas illegal at that moment. It was Hena who was able to manage his first concert in a boiler house of Leningradskiy Vet Institute in 1985. Hena was working there. Alexander Bashlachev took part in this concert too. When the legalization of rock began he retuned to music and became the director of the band DDT in Saint-Petersburg. His duty was to organize the concerts and tours, the meeting with Mass media. In 1987 he took part in the work of documentary the Game with the Strangers by Soldatenkov Peter. Because of him DDT, Yuri Morozov, Alexander Bashlachev and others were invited there. In March of 1989 Zaitscev managed to send to DDT and ALISA the invitations to the rock festival "Hungaro Carrot" to Hungary. He joined them the Agency of the Unions dealing with authors rights. Shevchuk , Kinchev and other club members began to get the authors rewards.

That year Zaitscev split up with DDT, He was working as a Chief Director of Leningrad Community of The Artists. Little bit later he was busy with the point of the authors right. In 1986 hena organized the first meeting of the authors of rock with the Agency of the Unions dealing with authors rights (the USSR). In 1991 he opened a label Ariotrack in Saint-Petersburg. . It was the first branch of an independent, official, record studio of Muscovite Ario. The first legal records Auction, Nastja, Nautiluspampilios, DDT. He released the cassettes ZOO, AUTOMATIC SATISFACTION, Yuri Naumov, Sergey Kurehin, Bashlacheb and others. In 1996 he created and he was a head of The Central Regional Author Institution.

Nowadays Zaitscev deals with conservation and presentation of the wide range of archives and Sound tracks. These works have never been released before. You have never heard these names and it is possible to meet them only in this book.

Burlaka A
The site's authors thank Alexei Lyamin & The Beatles forever

Copyright 2017.

"БЕГУЩИЙ НОЧЬЮ ПО СТЕПИ МОРОЗНОЙ ГОЛОДНЫЙ ВОЛК - ТОТ ПОНЯЛ БЫ МЕНЯ..."
ПЕРСОНАЛИИ
ГЕННАДИЙ ЗАЙЦЕВ

Первый летописец и хранитель традиций питерского рока, первый Президент легендарного Ленинградского Рок-клуба (в его биографии, вообще, довольно часто встречается эпитет "первый", хотя и не всегда в связи с историей отечественного рок-н-ролла), Геннадий Борисович Зайцев родился в Питере 26 июня 1954. Он приобщился к современной музыке и хиппистской философии под влиянием старшего брата Владимира (р.8.07.49), который был одним из первых в городе хиппи, с середины 60-х был тесно связан с тогда еще поп-движением и всячески способствовал его развитию: так, он вместе с компанией друзей и единомышленников освоил производство качественных и доступных по цене самодельных гитар - на одной из них, например, начинал играть основатель гр. « МИФы» - Сергей Данилов.

В 1971 Гена Зайцев закончил школу, год спустя, дабы не идти в армию, поступил в «Ленинградский Судостроительный Техникум», а в 1973г, вместе с братом создали, первый, тогда еще подпольный, поп-клуб, под названием «Ленинградский Клуб Любителей Музыки» - размещенный у них на квартире, дома, ставший объединением питерских групп, коллекционеров музыки, меломанов, начинающих журналистов, переводчиков, устраителей подпольных концертов и т.д. Ещё через год в их клубе появился студент Университета Юрий Байдак, который «пройдя инструктаж» начал занематься организацией подпольных концертов-сэйшенов.

С 1976 Зайцев первый и единственный, кто проявил инициативу и начал регулярно записывать группы, выступавшие на сэйшенах, собрав за следующие несколько лет впечатляющую и уникальную по своему содержанию коллекцию записей питерских (и не только) групп. С 1977 Поп-клуб (Гена Зайцев) устраивал подпольные просмотры записанных с финского телевидения клипов и концертов западных поп-рок-групп. Тем же летом Геной Зайцевым, была организована за городом, в Солнечном, первая в истории СССР, альтернативная, хиппи коммуна; осенью Зайцев – по инициативе Дюши Романова из гр.»Аквариум», организовал, на базе их подпольного клуба, издание первого в СССР независимого рок-журнала, по предложению Юрия Ильченко ( экс-«Мифы»), нареченного - "Рокси".

Хотя за деятельностью Зайцева пристально наблюдал КГБ (представители каторого его время от времени вызывали для проведения профилактических "воспитательных" бесед, однако, инкриминировать что-то конкретное так и не смогли), он не только поддерживал активность в коммуне (которая из Солнечного переехала сначала в Эстонию, а позднее на берега речки Гауя близ Риги) и собирал материалы о питерском роке, но и популяризовал его за пределами родного города. В частности, в 1978 Зайцев, как менеджер, впервые для Питера, устроил гастроли гр. «РОССИЯНЕ», в Тарту, Таллине и Москве. Он также методично рассылал записи питерской музыки по всей стране и даже на Запад.

В тот же период в ДК "Невский" (где тогда работал барабанщик гр. «АРГОНАВТЫ» Владимир Калинин, а сама группа играла на танцах) Зайцевым была произведена очередная попытка легализации поп-клуба, под именем - "Спектр", клуб собравший под своим крылом весь цвет самодеятельной журналистики и вполне официально проводивший лекции о ведущих западных рок-группах. В 1979 клуб переехал в ДК им. Ленина на "Пролетарской", где наряду с остальным, впервые был организован легальный обмен рок-пластинками и их продажа. Той же осенью по приглашению "Спектра" в Питер, и вновь впервые (!), из Таллина прибыла лучшая эстонская группа «MAGNETIC BAND», во главе с барабанщиком Гуннаром Грапсом, блпгодаря чему Эстонская эстрада получила площадки для выступлений вне Эстонии.

Со времён домашнего Поп-клуба середины 70-х Зайцев не оставлял попыток не только объединить питерских музыкантов на уровне личных контактов, но и придать такому объединению официальный статус. В ноябре 1979 в клубе РЖУ Красногвардейского района был открыт Экспериментальный Клуб-Лаборатория Популярной Музыки, в создании которого участвовали почти все подпольные менеджеры (Юрий Байдак, Татьяна Иванова, Александр Дрызлов, Сергей Иванов и т.д.), а также Гена Зайцев, который в ту пору пользовался колоссальным авторитетом в музыкальных кругах.

К сожалению, это объединение просуществовало не долго, но всего через год, в январе 1981, следующая попытка увенчалась абсолютным успехом, и в марте в Питере, «клуб братьев Зайцевых, он же все остальное, был легализован. Иными словами, было легалезованно подпольное, Питерское рок-движение, а Гена Зайцев был избран его Президентом. Правда, этот выбор «устроил не всех», и на следующий сезон, КГБ, выдавело Зайцева из совета клуба. Аргументацией послужил тот факт, что Гена единственный кто пошел против официального куратора клуба и его Совета, засщищая «Аквариум» и гр.»Россияне» от грозящего им исключения из клуба, либо запрета концертной деятельности. Он расстался с Рок-клубом и следующие несколько лет посвятил, главным образом, движению хиппи, хотя не терял контактов с рок-сообществом, успев за этот год , впервые в СССР, устроить радио трансляцию Питерских групп в Белорусии, Эстонии и Латвии.

В 1983 Гену Зайцева познакомили с находившемся чуть ли не на нелегальном положении лидером DDT Юрием Шевчуком. В 1985г. Гена устроил в котельной Лен. Ветеренарного института, где сам тогда работал, его первый питерский концерт, на котором дебютировал и Александр Башлачёв. С началом легализации рок-н-ролла Гена вернулся к музыке, став директором питерского состава DDT, устраивал им первые концерты, гастроли и контакты с масс медиа. В 1987 он принял деятельное участие в работе над документальным фильмом Петра Солдатенкова "Игра с неизвестным", куда с его подачи были приглашены DDT, Юрий Морозов, Александр Башлачёв и т.д. В марте 1989 Зайцев организовал DDT и АЛИСЕ приглашения на рок-фестиваль "Hungaro Carrot" в Венгрию, он же ввел их в ВААП, через каторое Шевчук, Кинчев, а затем и другие клубные авторы, начали получать свои авторские вознаграждения.

В том же году Зайцев расстался с DDT, около года работал исполнительным директором в «Ленинградского Товарищества Свободных Художников», а ещё позже занялся вопросами авторского права: ещё в 1986 Гена организовал первую встречу рок-авторов с ВААП (авторское общество СССР), в 1991 он открыл в Питере лэйбл «Эриотрэк» ( филиал первой независимой, официальной, издательской фирмы грам записей - московского «Эрио», куда спродюсировал на издание, первые законно изданные пластинки «Аукцион», «Настя», «Наутилуспампилиос», «ДДТ»), под которым выпускал на кассетах записи ЗООПАРКА, АВТОМАТИЧЕСКИХ УДОВЛЕТВОРИТЕЛЕЙ, Юрия Наумова, Сергея Курёхина, Башлачева и т.д., а в 1996 создал и возглавил Региональное Авторское Учреждение "Центральное".

В настоящее время Зайцев занимается сохранением и предоставлением своих обширных архивов и фонотеки, которые хранит десятки часов никогда не издававшихся записей - как звёзд питерского рока, так и тех, чьё имя сегодня можно найти разве что на страницах этой книги.

А. Бурлака.
Авторы сайта выражают благодарность Алексею Лямину & The Beatles forever

Copyright © Нина Морозова 2017.